Press Releases

Press Releases

The annual press releases below provide analyses of awards made.
To find names and details of winners for each year select the Award Winners button from the menu.

2018/2019 Scholarships

LUTSF has pleasure in announcing 10 travel scholarships for 2018/19. The projects selected highlight the policy of the Fund to support a diverse range of journeys and to assist individuals at different stages in their careers to travel to enrich their practice and pursue a personal passion.
Lisa Ullmann, in whose memory the Fund was established in 1986, was an inspiration to those who knew her or who came into contact with her work. A distinguished teacher, she travelled worldwide to teach others. It is in memory of her vivacity, passion and energy that the committee continues her work by selecting movement and dance practitioners to further or celebrate their own practice by making a journey. Since giving its first awards in 1987 LUTSF has provided over 500 travel scholarships to help people to pursue an extraordinarily wide range of projects. To date, these awards have totalled in excess of £260,000.

As in previous years, applications for awards this year were received from a wide spectrum of the dance world. Though fewer eligible applications were received, the committee was encouraged to see that the quality of eligible applications was consistently high and LUTSF would like to urge all colleagues to continue to convey the work of the fund to all sectors of the dance world.
LUTSF projects for 2018/19 include: (full list available on the website)

  • London to California to deliver an oral paper at the Performing Arts Medicine Association and share MA research on Hypermobiity and Injury in Dance
  • Devon to Fiji to lead a choreographic project with 10 international dancers and develop knowledge of Fijian dance and culture
  • Birmingham to Germany to investigate teaching and training methodologies for young dancers in preparation for future careers in the professional field
  • London to Limassol, Cyprus to take part in an international collaboration to research and develop a cross-arts experimental production
  • Leeds to Kentfield and Los Angeles, USA to develop choreographic research: taking classes and mentoring with Anna Halprin and Simone Forti
  • Birmingham to South Africa to work with leading experts in African Traditional Dance, Music and Well Being in order to enhance artistic skills and teaching methodologies and training
  • London to New York to observe classes with the Graham Company and work with faculty experts in the technique at the Alvin Ailey School and the Julliard School
  • A total of £5,952 has been awarded to 11 winners. Of the 11, 2 are under 30, 5 are between 31 and 40, 2 are 41 to 50 and 1 is over 50. There are 2 male awardees and 9 female. The geographical spread of awardees is as follows: 2 from South West, 2 from West Midlands, and 6 from London.

    LUTSF gratefully acknowledges the support of the late Vivien Gear as well as many individual donors. The Management Committee of the Fund would like to congratulate scholarship winners, and is delighted that LUTSF is able to make possible so many exciting projects. The LUTSF website carries reports from all scholarship winners since 2002, and these reports give some insight into the value of the experiences gained from these travel awards.

    Donations (one-off gifts, covenants, or bequests) to make it possible for LUTSF to continue its work are gratefully received and should be sent to: The Treasurer (LUTSF), c/o Charlton Associates, 16 Berkeley Mews, Cheltenham, GL50 1DY

    Application Forms for 2019/20 should be completed online from 2nd November 2018 and must be submitted to arrive by 18th January 2019. No late applications are considered.

    LUTSF does not offer scholarships to anyone under 18 years of age, undergraduates or those studying for masters degrees where the project relates directly to MA studies. Travel relating to doctoral studies will be considered.

    Press Releases for previous years:
    2017-2018; 2016-2017; 2015-2016; 2014-2015; 2013-2014; 2012-2013; 2011-2012; 2010-2011; 2009-2010; 2008-2009; 2007-2008; 2006-2007; 2005-2006; 2004-2005; 2003-2004; 2002-2003