Mission statement

The aim of this small charity is to provide financial support to individuals who wish to travel abroad or in the United Kingdom to attend a conference, to pursue a research project or undertake a short course of study in the field of movement or dance. Applications are welcome from UK residents aged over 18 irrespective of nationality, gender or previous training. Set up in memory of Lisa Ullmann, since 1987 the Fund has awarded travel scholarships to help people to pursue an extraordinarily wide range of projects. The diversity of the projects realised and the consequent communication between different sectors of the dance community world-wide is very much in tune with Lisa Ullmann’s own life and work. She was a distinguished teacher of movement and dance, whose unique work contributed to the dance education of countless students, dancers and teachers.

By 2018 LUTSF had awarded 545 scholarships amounting to £269,465.


  • Chair – Anna Carlisle MBE 
  • Vice Chair – Mercy Nabire
  • Treasurer – Andrew Holdsworth
  • Secretary – vacant
  • Minuting Secretary – Yael Owen-McKenna
  • Other Members – Dr. Alexandra Baybutt; Louise Costelloe; Claire Godsmark; Avril Hitman BEM

President and Patrons

President – vacant

Patrons – Dame Beryl Grey DBE, Celeste Dandeker-Arnold, Akram Khan MBE, Joan Plowright DBE, Wayne McGregor CBE, Maggie Semple OBE


Read more here about Lisa Ullmann (1907 – 1985), and LUTSF founder Dr. Geraldine Stephenson, who served as the Fund’s Chair and President for 30 years.

Annual Reports

1998-99; 1999-00; 2000-01; 2001-02; 2002-03; 2003-04; 2004-05; 2005-06; 2006-07; 2007-08; 2008-09; 2009-10; 2010-11; 2011-12; 2012-13; 2013-14; 2014-2015; 2015-2016; 2016-2017; 2017-2018  

Subscribe to our mailing list

* indicates required